District of Nevada

The District of Nevada is one of 94 judicial districts in the federal court system of the United States. It covers the entire state of Nevada. The District of Nevada plays an important role in the administration of justice in its geographic region.

Overview of the District

The District of Nevada was officially established in 1864 by a federal statute passed during the Civil War. It is part of the Ninth Circuit. There are district courthouses located in Las Vegas and Reno which hold court proceedings.

Key Courthouse and Officials

The Lloyd D. George United States Courthouse in Las Vegas is the main federal courthouse serving the district. The U.S. Marshal for the District of Nevada is Gary G. Schofield.

Geographic Area Covered

As Nevada constitutes one judicial district, the District of Nevada spans the entire state and covers 110,567 square miles. It encompasses urban areas like Las Vegas and Reno as well as vast rural areas.

See also  Philadelphia Family Court

Key Details about the District of Nevada

Here are some of the key details about the District of Nevada, including information on the main courthouse, geographic scope, and courts.

Courthouse Location and Contact Information

The main courthouse for the District of Nevada is the Lloyd D. George United States Courthouse located at 333 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Suite 2058 in Las Vegas. The phone number for this courthouse is (725) 277-6800.

Counties in the District

Since Nevada has only one federal judicial district, all 17 counties in the state fall under the District of Nevada. The largest county is Clark County, home to Las Vegas.

The Federal Court

The District of Nevada has one federal court, located in Las Vegas and Reno. It handles both civil and criminal federal cases, ranging from disputes over federal laws to crimes committed on federal land.

History and Background

Here is some history and background on when the District of Nevada was established and key developments over the years.

When the District Was Established

The District of Nevada was established by Congress on May 5, 1864 during the Civil War. This was shortly after Nevada attained statehood earlier that year.

Key Historical Developments

For many years after it was established, the District of Nevada handled a light caseload due to Nevada’s small population at the time. The district grew significantly in the 20th century as Nevada’s population rose.

Notable Cases Over the Years

Some notable federal cases in the District of Nevada’s history include early mining law disputes, Prohibition-era bootlegging trials, lawsuits involving the Hoover Dam’s construction, and recent cases relating to Las Vegas mob figures.

See also  providence district court

District Operations and Caseloads

Let’s examine how the District of Nevada conducts its day-to-day operations and oversees legal caseloads.

How the Court is Organized

The District of Nevada has one district court with seven authorized federal judgeships. The court uses magistrate judges to help manage caseloads and pretrial matters.

Types of Cases Handled

Like all federal district courts, the District of Nevada handles both civil and criminal matters. Some common cases include federal crimes, prisoner petitions, employment lawsuits, and contract disputes.

Caseloads and Workload

In recent years, caseloads average around 8,000 to 10,000 new cases per year. The court has implemented innovative techniques like alternative dispute resolution to efficiently handle its heavy workload.

The District and the Community

Here are some ways that the District of Nevada interacts with and impacts the local community:

Interactions with the Public

The District holds naturalization ceremonies and offers public tours and learning programs to educate the local community about the federal court system.

Civic Outreach and Education

Court staff participate in community events to provide legal education. The court has held events on issues like preventing violence against women.

The District’s Impact and Legacy

With high-profile cases covered in media, the District has impacted public perceptions of justice. Historic courtroom renovations have preserved the court’s legacy.


In conclusion, some key takeaways about the District of Nevada:

Key Takeaways

The District of Nevada serves all of Nevada and has shaped the legal landscape since its Civil War origins. Its Las Vegas courthouse oversees impactful contemporary cases.

See also  Palm Beach County Florida Court Directory

The District’s Importance

This court ensures justice is upheld for Nevada residents through exercising federal judicial authority over its extensive jurisdiction.

What the Future Holds

As Nevada grows, the District will continue adapting to fulfill its vital mission. Its legacy will provide a foundation for the court’s future proceedings and civic role.


What are some examples of federal cases heard in the District of Nevada?

The District hears a wide range of federal civil and criminal cases, including lawsuits about federal laws, disputes over federal benefits, federal drug crimes, immigration cases, and cases relating to crimes committed on federal land.

How many judges serve on the District of Nevada court?

Congress has authorized seven federal district court judgeships for the District of Nevada. Typically all seven positions are filled by active judges.

When was the Lloyd D. George courthouse built?

The Lloyd D. George United States Courthouse opened in Las Vegas in 2002. It was named for a longtime federal judge who served on the District of Nevada court.

What is the role of the U.S. Marshal for the district?

The U.S. Marshal oversees courthouse security, protects judges, transports federal prisoners, and serves federal warrants and subpoenas.

How can I observe court proceedings in the District of Nevada?

Many hearings are open to public observation. You can check the court calendar online and then come to the courthouse on the date of the hearing you want to observe.

Similar Posts