District of Montana

The District of Montana constitutes one judicial district that covers the entire state of Montana. It is part of the Ninth Circuit. The District of Montana was established on May 26, 1864.


When Montana became a state in 1889, it was still considered part of the District of Dakota Territory. It officially became the District of Montana with the Federal Judiciary Act of 1890, which also established Circuit Courts of Appeals. The district went through various reorganizations over the years as the population expanded and more judges were added.


Geographically, Montana has a varied terrain. The central and eastern parts of the state consist of flat prairie areas and moderate hills. However, the western region features rugged Rocky Mountains, with peaks over 12,000 feet high. This diverse landscape leads to differing legal concerns in different parts of the district.

Court Locations


The James F. Battin U.S. Courthouse in Billings hosts federal court proceedings, including bankruptcy court. Billings is the most populous city in Montana.

Great Falls

Great Falls has a courthouse annex that handles some proceedings for the District of Montana. The city is located along the Missouri River.


Missoula houses a courthouse annex that hosts district court trials, sentencings, and motion hearings. The city is surrounded by mountain ranges.


Butte courthouse was built in 1900 and renovated in the 2000s. It handles federal cases like any other division in the district. Butte has a rich mining history.



Helena is the state capital of Montana and home to the main federal courthouse for the district. The influential Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals also holds sessions there occasionally.


The U.S. Marshal for the District of Montana is Craig J. Anderson. The marshal’s office provides security for the courts, transports federal prisoners, and executes orders.


James F. Battin U.S. Courthouse

The main courthouse for the district is the James F. Battin U.S. Courthouse located in Billings at 2601 2nd Avenue North, Suite 2300. This building opened in 1996 and handles federal cases from across the state.


Montana constitutes one judicial district. It varies geographically with flat areas and moderate terrain in the central and eastern parts of the state, and aggressive rocky mountains in the west.


The District of Montana encompasses the entire state and serves its over 1 million residents. While much of the population and the main courthouse activities take place in Billings, the district strives to make justice accessible across its varied terrain through courthouses in key cities. The district’s judges and staff take on a diversity of federal cases, from fraud to environmental issues to Native American law. This district within the Ninth Circuit contributes unique local experience to the federal justice system.


How many courthouses are in the District of Montana?

There are 5 divisional courthouses across the state located in Billings, Great Falls, Missoula, Butte, and Helena. The main courthouse is the James F. Battin U.S. Courthouse in Billings.

What cities does the District of Montana cover?

See also  fairfax circuit court

As Montana constitutes one judicial district, it covers the entire state. Major cities include Billings, Missoula, Great Falls, Bozeman, Butte, Helena, and Kalispell.

What kind of terrain does the District of Montana include?

The district includes varied terrain such as flat prairies and hills in central and eastern Montana as well as steep, rugged Rocky Mountains in western Montana.

What federal Circuit Court of Appeals does Montana belong to?

Montana is part of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals headquartered in San Francisco.

When was the District of Montana established?

It was officially established in 1890 by the Federal Judiciary Act, although Montana was still considered part of the District of Dakota Territory when it became a state in 1889.

Similar Posts