Corrigan Municipal Court

Corrigan Municipal Court

Time

Working Hours:
Monday:8:00 am– 4:30 pm
Tuesday: 8:00 am– 4:30 pm
Wednesday:8:00 am– 4:30 pm
Thursday:  8:00 am– 4:30 pm
Friday: 8:00 am– 4:30 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Judges

Judge L.W. Yankie

Administrative:

Dana Vanya

Chief Prosecutor

Aaron Felton
Dial: 936-398-5923
Fax: 936-398-5687
Email: [email protected]

Attorney

Connect with a Attorney

Clerk of Courts

N/A

Corrigan Municipal Court is a trial city courthouse and serves the residents of Polk County, Texas. It was constructed in 1916 in the Polk Courthouse square, then shifted to Corrigan, Texas. It has jurisdiction over class c felony criminal cases, traffic and vehicle violation cases, civil cases, and cases involving city ordinances with a $2000 fine. The court’s mission is to serve the community by providing justice and offering a forum of impartiality for case resolution. The forum must be brought before the court so that a person’s legal rights are protected. Proper dressing is required during the court session.

See also  East Fishkill Town Court

How to search for the case record?

Corrigan Municipal Court records are available online in the county clerk’s offices. They can be found online by using the following ways:

  • Searching by name
  • Searching by case number
  • Searching by address
  • Searching by phone
  • Searching by email

Some recorded information about cases is not available online because they are confidential by law. These types of information are only available at the county court office. They can be obtained by mailing a request to the county court. In the proposal, you had to write a statement with a case number and application fees and send it in a sealed envelope to the court or appear in person and give it to the court. Mostly confidential information is only given to the person involved in the case or to the police or investigation agency. For more information about the public records, call or mail the court.

Phone: 936-398-4126

Email: [email protected] 

The traffic court handles which types of cases?

Corrigan Municipal Traffic Court handles cases of traffic and vehicle violations. The violation includes speeding, accidents, using cell phones while driving, failing to follow a traffic signal or traffic control device, driving while intoxicated, with a suspended or no license, leaving the scene of the accident, and driving recklessly. Your driving license and driving privileges will be suspended if you do not pay the fine on time. You cannot request your license renewal until the court approves. Hire a professional traffic Ticket attorney for traffic and speeding cases because they can defend you against the traffic charges in court.

See also  Lindley Town Court

see also How To Become A Court Reporter

How many fines a person had to pay for a traffic violation?

Corrigan Municipal Court fines depend upon the type of violation a person has committed. $190 for speeding over the limit of 5 mph, $335 for running on a red light or stop sign, $210 if you are using expired vehicle registration or expired vehicle inspection, $160 if you are driving without a seat belt, $194 for a parking violation, $210 if you are using defective equipment and 107 for an unrestrained child, etc.

 How many types of pleas are available in this court?

Corrigan Municipal Court pleas are used in traffic ticket matters. Three types of pleas are available by this court that are:

Plea of Guilty

If you are guilty and want to request a defensive driving or deferred disposition, you must enter a guilty plea, and the court will respond to the response and the fine you had to pay.

Plea of Not Guilty

If you do not feel guilty, enter the plea of not guilty, and then you must appear in court on the schedule. You cannot request a defensive driving or deferred disposition in this case. This case will be held at the end of the docket. You will receive a pre-trial schedule in which you must appear with the prosecutor and submit all the witnesses. After that, a court date will be given to you, and you have to appear with the witness on that date.

Plea of No Consent

 If you want to request a defensive driving or deferred disposition or pay the accepted ticket, you must enter a plea of no consent.

See also  Olive Branch Court

How to make payments?

Corrigan Municipal Court pays tickets, and other fines can be made in the following ways:

In-Person

A person can pay for tickets and fines by visiting the court during regular court hours and paying in cash, checks, or with a card at the counter. Convenience and other charges will be applied if you make payment with a credit card.

Online

A person can pay online using the court’s online payment link: https://www.trafficpayment.com/. Enter the ticket or citation number and pay the fine. Service fees will be applied in this method.

Mail

A Person can send a certified check or money order to the court’s mailing address. The address is 1001 N Home St, Corrigan, TX 75939, United States. Cash or personal checks are not acceptable in the mail; only certified checks or money orders are accepted.

see also Oldham County District Court

In which cases dismissal with correction of charge is possible?

Corrigan Municipal Court dismissed the case with a correction of charges. A person can request a dismissal with a correction or renewal proof if they received a ticket for the following violation:

  • Drive with an expired license plate or expired license
  • Violation of equipment, headlight, turn signal, etc.
  • Using VMI Expired Sticker
  • Vehicle insurance

These cases can be solved with some fines, and the case will be dismissed.

How can I enroll in the Defensive Driving Course?

A person can enroll in the defensive driving course if he has not taken any driving course in the last 12 months and must have a Texas driver’s license. You had to provide a written notice at the court before your case appearance date, enter a plea of guilty or no content, and send proof of driver’s license or vehicle insurance to the court with a $144 money order as state fees. Then, the class schedule will be given to you if the court approves your request.

see also Providence District Court

FAQ

Can my acceptable payment be extended?

Yes, you had to send the court a plea form for the payment extension with a picture ID and insurance copy.

Which things are not allowed in the court?

The things that are not allowed in the court are:

  • No electronic or recording items. 
  • No food or drinks
  • No shorts, sunglasses, or hats 
  • No torn or sleeveless dress

What is the fine if I use defective lights?

$210 is fine if you use defective lights.

Similar Posts