Port Wentworth Courthouse

Port Wentworth Courthouse

Time

Working Hours:
Monday:8:00 am– 5:00 pm
Tuesday: 8:00 am– 5:00 pm
Wednesday:8:00 am– 5:00 pm
Thursday:  8:00 am– 5:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am– 5:00 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Judges

Judge Hermann Coolidge
Judge Steve Davis

Magistrate:

Dana Horsley
Morgan Curlette
Alicia Cole

Chief Prosecutor

Shalena Cook Jones
Joseph Byron Ervin
Dial: 912-964-4360
Fax: 912-966-4379

Attorney

Connect with a Attorney

Clerk of Courts

​Zahnay Smoak

Port Wentworth Courthouse is a municipal court in Chatham, Georgia. The court handles the case of criminal, traffic and small claims matters, violation of an ordinance, and felony cases of shoplifting and possession of marijuana. It also issues warrants in criminal cases and has jurisdiction in Chatham County. Proper Dressing is required in the court session.

See also  Rockingham County Courthouse

How to search for the case record?

Port Wentworth Courthouse records are available at the court office in files, on the computer, and online. They can be found online by using the following ways:

  • Searching by name
  • Searching by case number
  • Searching by address
  • Searching by phone
  • Searching by email

Some information about cases is not available online because they are confidential by law, like criminal cases. These types of information are only available at the court office. You had to submit a form for this information by visiting the court, and then the court would respond whether to provide the record information or not. Mostly confidential information is only given to the person involved in the case or to the police or investigation agency. The record search request is free of cost.

What are the court fees for cases and other documents?

The court fees depend upon the type of case and the document you want. $214 is for the general civil and domestic case, $51 for any new application or renewal of any document, $50 for the services of the sheriff, $25 for the action of tenant dispossessory, $58 for filling fees with $2 clerk retirement $125 for the fund fee of judicial operation and $2.50 per copy for the record printout from the computer.

see also Howard County Circuit Court Maryland

The traffic court handles which types of cases?

Pent Wentworth Courthouse Traffic Court handles cases of traffic and vehicle violations. The violation includes speeding, accidents, using cell phones while driving, failing to follow a traffic signal or traffic control device, driving while intoxicated, with a suspended or no license, leaving the scene of the accident, and driving recklessly. You can send a guilty or not guilty plea to the court before the date written on the ticket you received. The court will respond with whether to appear in court for the case or only fines will be paid. Your driving license and driving privileges will be suspended if you do not pay the fine on time. You cannot request your license renewal until the court approves. The Police Department of the Town gives the speeding ticket, and you can pay for the traffic ticket at the police department by telling them the citation number. Hire a professional traffic Ticket attorney for traffic and speeding cases because they can defend you against the traffic charges in court.

See also  Yolo County Superior Court

How to make payments?

Port Wentworth Courthouse payment for fines and tickets can be made in the following ways:

In-Person

A person can pay for tickets and fines by visiting the court during regular court hours and paying in cash, checks, or with a card at the counter with the citation number. Traffic Tickets will be paid at the City of Port Wentworth Police Department at 323 Cantyre Street. Convenience and other charges will be applied if you make payment with a credit card.

Online

A person can pay online using the online payment website. Enter the citation number and pay with any online method. Service fees will be applied in this online method.

Mail

A Person can send a certified check or money order to the court’s mailing address. The address is 305 S Coastal Hwy, Port Wentworth, GA 31407, United States. Cash or personal checks are not acceptable in the mail; only certified checks or money orders are accepted.

How to get a marriage license?

Port Wentworth Courthouse Court’s marriage license is obtained from the clerk’s office and given by Chatham County. The appointment is mandatory for getting the marriage license. The fee for a marriage license with a premarital education certificate is $26 and without the premarital certificate is $26. The couple’s age must be 18+. If someone is under 18, written consent from parents, guardians, and the judge are mandatory. To get the certification, the couple had to submit a marriage form with an original sealed birth certificate issued by the state, photo ids like a driver’s license, Passport, or anything that could prove their identity. All documents must be in English. The application form is available at the clerk’s office. If this is anyone’s second marriage, a divorce paper or spouse death certificate must be required at the time of registration. All the documents must be in English. If anyone wants the copies, fill out the certificated copy of the marriage license request, and submit it to the court. 

See also  New Paltz Town Court

What is the role of the clerk?

Port Wentworth Courthouse clerk’s role is to maintain each case file and receive and handle payment and fines. The clerk’s office is the center of town business and the primary source of information regarding the town. They are responsible for the maintenance of all Official Town Records and the issuance of various licenses. They are an agent of licensing and custodians of the town records. They provide marriage licenses, birth and death certificates, permits, etc.

see also Schoharie County Family Court

FAQ:

Which type of photo ID is required for the marriage certificate?

Any photo ID that proves your photo identification that includes:

  • Passport
  • Driving License
  • Employee ID
  • Military ID

What happens if I do not pay the fine on time?

If you do not pay the fine on time, an extra penalty will be added to it, and your insurance or driver’s license will be suspended and not renewed until the court gives the order.

Which dresses are allowed during the court session?

The dress should be respectable and comfortable. The judges will recommend business suits or pant coat. Sleeveless, tight or torn clothes are not allowed during the court session.

Similar Posts